Five former Congress members join BJP in Manipur

The five MLAs who joined the BJP on Wednesday included Okram Henry Singh

In a big boost to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Manipur, five legislators who left the Congress party joined the BJP on Wednesday.

The BJP national general secretary Ram Madhav, national vice president Baijayant Panda and Manipur chief minister N Biren Singh was present at the occasion.

The five MLAs who joined the BJP on Wednesday included Okram Henry Singh, Oinam Lukhoi Singh, Ngamthang Haokip, Ginsuanhau and Paonam Brojen. However, it is yet to be confirmed Congress MLA RK. Imo, who is also reportedly camping in New Delhi, joined the BJP fold or not.

Okram Henry is the nephew of Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader and former chief minister Okram Ibobi Singh, and RK Imo Singh, son-in-law of Manipur chief minister N Biren Singh.

All the former Congress MLAs tendered their resignations during the one-day Monsoon Session of the state Assembly on August 10. Manipur Legislative Assembly Speaker Y Khemchand Singh had on August 11 accepted the resignation of the five MLAs.

Five days after their resignation, the six MLAs along with CM Biren left Imphal for the national capital last Sunday. Unconfirmed sources said another Congress MLA, Md Abdul Nasir, who was expected to join BJP is likely to join another party.

In the wake of the development, Minister Th. Bishwajit and BJP president Saikhom Tiken, also rushed to New Delhi this afternoon. Sources said that Bishwajit and Tiken were summoned by the party central leaders.

Speculation is doing the round that there could be some changes in the BJP-led coalition government. Reports are also doing the round that the BJP central leaders could discuss the report submitted by the party observers who recently visited Manipur after the uncertainty within the coalition.

First Published:Aug. 19, 2020, 6:37 p.m.

Leave a comment