Thursday, February 20, 2020


Motörhead, Judas Priest and Thin Lizzy miss out Hall of Fame
IFP Bureau | First Published: January 20, 2020 00:29:56 am
Responsive image

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has announced that T. Rex, The Doobie Brothers, Depeche Mode, Nine Inch Nails, The Notorious B.I.G. and Whitney Houston are all being inducted into the class of 2020.

The six artists making the final cut were and they will be officially inducted at a ceremony at Cleveland’s Public Hall on Saturday 2nd May, according to a report by

Of the 2020 inductees, T. Rex, Notorious B.I.G., Whitney Houston and the Doobie Brothers all got into the Rock Hall at the first time of asking. Depeche Mode and Nine Inch Nails have been nominated three times.

T. Rex, The Notorious B.I.G. , Whitney Houston , The Doobie Brothers, and Depeche Mode (PHOTO: Facebook)

A voting poll of more than 1,000 artists, historians, journalists and members of the music industry has selected the new class as reported on

Additionally, for the seventh year running, the fans themselves had a small say on the inductees – the “fan’s ballot” counts as one of the 1,000+ ballots that decided the class of 2020.

This year’s fan vote winners Pat Benatar and Dave Matthews band didn’t make the Rock Hall. The seven previous winners of the fan vote were all inducted that year.
Nominated for a second time this year after previously making the long list in 2018, Judas Priest have failed to make it into the Rock Hall for a second time.

Motörhead and Thin Lizzy were both nominated for the first time ever; however, they were snubbed by the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame voting pool. Soundgarden, Kraftwerk, MC5, Rufus featuring Chaka Khan and Todd Rundgren were also on the ballot but failed to secure enough votes.

Artists can only be nominated for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 25 years after the release of their first studio album, states.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation was established by Atlantic Records founder Ahmet Ertegun on 20th April 1983 to honour artists who helped shape the history of rock n’ roll.

Last year Def Leppard were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame alongside Radiohead, Roxy Music, The Cure, The Zombies, Stevie Nicks and Janet Jackson.
Making something of a mockery of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, despite being eligible since 2005, Iron Maiden haven’t picked up a solitary nomination as reported on

Please follow and like us:
Visit Us

The Imphal Free Press welcomes your inputs and feedbacks.
Email us for feedbacks and Press Release at:
For Advertisement:
Call us at 0385 2441704