Thursday, February 20, 2020


Manipuri writer Beril Thanga nominated for Sahitya Akademi Award
IFP Bureau | First Published: December 19, 2019 16:47:36 pm
Responsive image

Manipuri writer, Laishram Biramangol Singh, who writes with the pen name Beril Thanga has been nominated for the annual Sahitya Akademi Awards 2019. The prestigious award is being given to the writer for his novel ‘Ei Amasung Adungeigi Ithak’.

Sahitya Akademi announced its annual awards in 23 languages on Wednesday. Seven books of poetry, four of novel, six of short stories, three of essays and one each of non-fiction, autobiography and biography have won the Sahitya Akademi Awards 2019, according to a release.

The Awards were recommended by distinguished Jury members representing 23 Indian languages and approved by the executive board of the Akademi which met on Wednesday under the chairmanship of  Chandrashekhar Kambar, president, SahityaAkademi, it said.

Seven books of poetry were awarded to Phukan Ch Basumatary (Bodo), Nand Kishore Acharya (Hindi), Nilba A Khandekar (Konkani), Kumar Manish Arvind (Maithili), V Madhusoodanan Nair (Malayalam), Anuradha Patil (Marathi) and Prof Penna Madhusudan(Sanskrit).  

Four novels were awarded to Joysree Goswami Mahanta (Assamese), L Birmangol Singh (Beryl Thanga) (Manipuri), Cho Dharman (Tamil) and Bandi Narayana Swamy (Telugu).

Six books of short stories were awarded to Abdul Ahad Hajini (Kashmiri), Tarun Kanti Mishra (Odia), Kirpal Kazak (Punjabi), Ram sawroop Kisan (Rajasthani), Kali Charan Hembram (Santali) and Ishwar Moorjani (Sindhi), the release continued.

Shashi Tharoor (English), Vijaya (Kannada) and Prof Shafey Kidwai (Urdu) have won for each of their works on creative non-fiction, autobiography and biography respectively. Three books of essays were awarded to Chinmoy Guha (Bengali), Om Sharma Jandriari (Dogri) and Ratilal Borisagar (Gujarati), it added.  

The books were selected on the basis of recommendations made by a jury of three members in the languages concerned in accordance with the procedure laid down for the purpose. The Award in the form of a casket containing an engraved copper-plaque, a shawl and an amount of Rs 1,00,000 towards cash content will be presented to the authors of these books at a special function to be held on February 25, 2020 at New Delhi during the Festival of Letters organized by Sahitya Akademi, the release further said.

Please follow and like us:
Visit Us

The Imphal Free Press welcomes your inputs and feedbacks.
Email us for feedbacks and Press Release at:
For Advertisement:
Call us at 0385 2441704