Core committee to strengthen demand for Manipuri language in Assam formed

The core committee on Manipuri language consists of 13 members

LAKHIPUR: To strengthen the movement to make Manipuri language an associate official language of Assam, a core committee consisting of 13 members was formed on Tuesday.

The core committee was formed in a meeting organised by Manipur Youth Front of Assam (MYFA) at Gurumayum Mandop, Cachar, Lakhipur. The members of the committee are, general secretary of AMSP, Ng Basanta, Ingudam Binot, K Bidyapati, Abdul Bari Khan, (retired) colonel, A Gourakishor, A Swapan, L Robindra, Meirapaibi members, Ema Aruna and Ema Sanathoi, Ahamed Hussain Choudhury, (retired) ACS, Kangabam Santee, K N Chand and Sunita Singha, with A Swapan as the convener.

The committee resolved to call a joint meeting with all the civil voluntary organisations of Assam on August 10, followed by a sit-in-protest in the areas of Silchar, Lakhipur and Sonai on August 21.

First Published:Aug. 4, 2020, 11:32 p.m.