Y Erabot Singh sworn in as Wangkhei MLA

The new MLA was administered the oath of office in secrecy by Speaker Y Khemchand on Wednesday.

(PHOTO: Twitter)


Yumkham Irabot Singh of the Manipur Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was sworn in as member of the Manipur Legislative Assembly of 15-Wangkhei Assembly constituency in the presence of Chief Minister N Biren Singh Wednesday. The new MLA was administered the oath of office in secrecy by Speaker Y Khemchand. 

Y Erabot was declared elected MLA of Wangkhei assembly constituency by a single bench of justice MV Muralidaran, High Court of Manipur on April 15, after declaring the election result of Wangkhei assembly constituency which announced Okram Henry a winner, as null and void.

Speaking to media persons after the ceremony, Erabot said the present government has completed its term of four years and hardly one year is left. During his tenure as MLA of Wangkhei assembly constituency, he will do whatever he can for the assembly constituency.

Announcing the swearing-in of Irabot as MLA of Wangkhei on Twitter, the chief ministercongratulated the newly sworn-in MLA.

"Congratulations to Shri Yumkham Erabot Singh on being sworn in as MLA of 15- Wangkhei Assembly Constituency today. Hon'ble Speaker of Manipur Legislative Assembly Shri Yumnam Khemchan Singh administered the oath of office in secrecy to the Hon'ble MLA," CM Biren tweeted.

Responding to the media regarding the portfolio of the new MLA, Biren said the decision will be taken by the Central BJP leaders and conveyed his best wishes to the people of Wangkhei assembly constituency.

On April 15, the High Court of Manipur, declaring the election of Henry Okram as member of 15-Wangkhei assembly constituency in the 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly as null and void, mentioned in its judgment that Henry submitted a false affidavit to the Election Commission.

Okram Henry joined the BJP after he resigned from Indian National Congress as MLA before the completion of his term. The BJP-led government made Henry as social welfare minister in charge in September 2020.

Henry provided different educational qualifications during the submission of nomination papers in the 2012 and 2017 assembly election. In 2012, he submitted that his highest educational qualification was BA from Punjab University and in 2017 he furnished his qualification as Class XII passed from Manipur Public School, CBSE. 

During the period of the present government, this was the second time a Congress MLA was disqualified for furnishing incorrect information during the election process.

Meanwhile, state BJP felicitated Y Erabot at its state BJP office located at Nityaipat Chuthek, Imphal.

Click Here for More News from Manipur


High Court annuls Okram Henry election, declares Y Erabot Wangkhei MLA

First Published:April 21, 2021, 3:11 p.m.

Leave a comment