SSC Porompat wins opener against YOSC by 2-0 goals in IEDFA First Division League

Nine teams are participating in the Moirangthem Ibobi Memorial First Division Football League Tournament 2021.


SSC Porompat blanked YOSC Khurai by 2-0 goals in the opening match of the Moirangthem Ibobi Memorial First Division Football League Tournament 2021, organised by IEDFA at Akhampat Ground, Imphal East.

The match proved to be hotly contested affairs in the first half play with none of the team providing any loose end. However just before the first half whistle, SSC team surprised its opponent with a quick goal from Hitler in the 45+2 minute for the lead.

YOSC increased the pressure and made several unsuccessful raids and at the same time, SSC Porompat frontline player was ever on the prowl and it proved effective when Grimson converted their second goal in the 59 minute to dictate terms in the match.

With the goal, SSC made occasional raids and gave priority to its defence and held till the end for the victory. Two YOSC players, U Romeshchandra and Y Romadatta got yellow cards in the match for dangerous play from the referee.

The opening match was attended by Uchekon Zilla Parishad member, S Neken Singh along with IEDFA president, H Sulanjoy Singh and the donor's family.

Nine teams, YOSC Khurai, PRYA Khundrakpam, DOAK Andro, SSC Porompat, CSC Chanung, SSC Sekta, KSDC Khomidok, Angtha FC Angtha and ABA Khetrigao are participating in the league.

First Published:April 5, 2021, 2:19 a.m.

Leave a comment