‘Government must initiate steps for recognition of Thang-Ta by National Sports Federation of India’

A reception function was held on the inclusion of Thang-Ta in Khelo India Youth Games 2021.


Sintakpurel (teacher) of Thang-Ta Huidrom Premkumar Singh who is also technical chairman of Thang-Ta Federation of India drew the attention of Chief Minister N Biren to initiate steps for recognition of Thang-Ta by the National Sports Federation of India.

Speaking at the appraisal cum reception function on the inclusion of Thang-Ta in Khelo India Youth Games 2021, Premkumar said that inclusion of Thang-Ta, one of the indigenous martial arts of Manipur in Khelo India Youth Games 2021 is a great moment for the state. 

Getting recognised by the National Sports Federation would give more opportunity in terms of promotion and preservation of the art form. As such, the state government should take initiative to get the recognition, he urged.

He continued that most of the nations have their own indigenous martial arts which were used as a defence during wartime. Realising its significance, every nation has started putting efforts to develop them in the form of a standard game, he added.

Premkumar pointed out that not getting recognition of the federation is one of the major reasons why many people hesitate to join this game. 

While saying that preservation and promotion of this ancestral art form require the full-fledged recognition of the federation, he added that getting recognition would also help in including Thang-Ta as one of the disciplines in the Olympic Games. 

The function was organised by Huyel Langlon Thang-Ta Association (HLTTA), Manipur at Manipur Press Club, Majorkhul Imphal. Among others, it was attended by the national awardee, H Ibotombi Khuman; vice-president, HLTTA, Manipur, Th Priyokumar Singh; former president, Democratic Students’ Alliance of Manipur, L Romesh Meitei and Sangeet Natak Akademi Awardee, who is also the principal cum director of HLTTA, Manipur, K Sanathoiba Sharma as chief guest, guests of honour and president respectively.

First Published:Dec. 23, 2020, 9:08 p.m.

Leave a comment