Meghalaya Assembly Speaker admits Congress' No-confidence motion against MDA government

The Speaker said that the no-Nonfidence motion will be taken up on Wednesday at 11 am.

Meghalaya Assembly Speaker Metbah Lyngdoh (PHOTO: Facebook)


Meghalaya Assembly Speaker Metbah Lyngdoh on Tuesday admitted the No-confidence motion moved by opposition Congress against the Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) government for alleged failure in all fronts.  

“Since at least 10 members have supported the motion, the motion has Leave of the House to be admitted. Therefore, the no-confidence motion is admitted with the leave of the House,” said Lyngdoh and added that he has fixed Wednesday at 11 am for disposal of the motion. 

The motion was moved by the leader of Opposition Mukul Sangma along with 10 other legislators, Zenith M Sangma, Winnerson D Sangma, PT Sawkmie, HM Shangpliang, Dikkanchi D Shira, Miani D Shira, George B Lyngdoh, M Rapsang, Kimfa S Marbaniang and Lazarus Sangma.

 The opposition in the motion alleged that the council of ministers led by Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma has failed to address multiple and critical issues affecting the wellbeing of the people as a whole. 

“Whereas, the council of ministers led by Conrad K. Sangma has failed to protect the interest of the state as a whole and failed in all fronts. Therefore, this House does now express its want of confidence in the council of ministers,” the opposition party said. 


Meghalaya: CM Conrad Sangma confident of sailing through no-confidence motion

Meghalaya: Congress to move No-confidence motion

First Published:Nov. 10, 2020, 10:44 p.m.

Leave a comment