Deck cleared for by-polls in Manipur; 1.3 lakh electorates to cast votes amid COVID-19 pandemic

By-elections to be held in four Assembly constituencies of Manipur Saturday

A polling station (Photo: IFP)

Necessary preparations are in place for the by-elections in four assembly constituencies in the state to be conducted on Saturday. As many as 1,35,212 voters, including 66,807 males and 68,400 females will exercise their franchise to seal the fate of 11 candidates in the fray. Of the total 11 candidates, four are INC, three BJP, three independents and one NPP.

Polling parties and security personnel reached their respective polling stations on Friday. Voting will begin at 7 am and conclude at 5 pm. Around 2,294 polling personnel, including security, will be used in a total of 203 polling stations spread across the four constituencies.

In view of the COVID-19 pandemic, poll will be conducted adhering strict Standard Operating Procedure (SOPs) issued by the ECI.

The CEO Manipur office had earlier announced that options will be given for postal ballot for elderly persons above 80 years, persons with disabilities and for quarantined persons. There are a total of 1685 voters above the age of 80 years and 639 persons with disabilities.

For the first time, the state will be using ‘mark-III’ electronic voting machine (EVM) and voter-verified paper audit trail (VVPAT) that are procured from Assam and Mizoram and manufactured by ECI limited.

Altogether, 833 polling parties, including police personnel, will be used in Lilong, 731 in Wangjing Tentha. There are 32,398 voters (15,877 males, 16,518 females) and 49 polling stations in 30-Lilong and Wangjing Tentha has 31,213 voters (15,053 males, 16,160 females) and 43 polling stations out of which two polling stations 34/4 and 34/5 are sensitive. 34/14 and 34/15 polling stations will be manned by woman polling personnel only. In Lilong, three candidates including one INC and two Independents candidates are in fray. Similarly, three candidates including BJP, INC and Independent are in the fray in Wangjing Tentha.

In Wangoi, a total number of 205 polling personnel including security will be used in 41 polling stations and 28828 voters will cast their votes to seal the fate of three candidates, BJP, NPP and INC.

The by-poll in Saitu will be a straight fight between arch rival BJP and INC. Veteran politician and BJP candidate, Ngamthang Haokip will be up against a new face Lamtinthang Haokip of INC.

Around 525 polling personnel and security will be used in 70 polling stations. There are 40,257 eligible voters in Saitu out of which 19,755 are male voters and 20,498 are female voters apart from four other voters.

Of the 70 polling stations, 17 polling stations are identified as critical and seven polling stations are identified as vulnerable while the remaining 46 polling stations are identified as normal.

The ECI had scheduled for by-polls in five constituencies namely Saitu, Singhat, Lilong, Wanjing Tentha and Wangoi. However, BJP candidate Shri Ginsuanhau Zou @ GS Haupu was elected unopposed from Singhat AC (ST) after Independent candidate Chinlunthang withdrew his nomination. With this, there are 12 seats lying vacant in the state. The counting of votes will be conducted on November 10.


First Published:Nov. 6, 2020, 10 p.m.

Leave a comment