Six more candidates file nomination papers, no BJP candidate in Lilong

A total of 16 candidates have filed their nomination till Tuesday.

Six more candidates filed their nomination papers on Tuesday for the upcoming by-elections to five assembly constituencies in Manipur Of the six candidates, four were independent candidates and one each from the BJP and the INC.

Former MLA and BJP candidate Paonam Brojen Singh filed his nomination in Wangjing Tentha constituency, while Independent candidate Moirangthem Totomshana Singh alias Nongshaba, filed in Wangoi.

Four candidates filed their nomination in Lilong, three of the four candidates are independent candidates namely Wangmayum Reshma, an independent candidate; Y Antas Khan, an independent candidate; Md Abdul Zabar Khan and one INC candidate namely Md Azizul Haque Khan.

However, the BJP has not fielded any candidate in Lilong.

With this, a total of 16 candidates have filed their nomination till Tuesday on the last day of the submission of nomination paper.

The scrutiny of nomination will be held on Wednesday and the last date of withdrawal of candidature is Thursday. Counting of votes will be held on November 10.

First Published:Oct. 20, 2020, 9:09 p.m.

Leave a comment